Concrete roof tiles. Have an old concrete tileroof from when house was built in 1940s was thinking about re roofing but partner

blurple1, Oct 19, 7:35pm
have an old concrete tileroof from when house was built in 1940s, was thinking about re roofing but partner likes the tile look, am going to paint it myself as am a painter by trade, what paint shouldi use! who do i get to check over the existing tiles etc! and has any one had this done!

budgel, Oct 19, 9:34pm
Talk to your paint supplier, they have access to lots of technical advice from the manufacturers.

Be very careful when on the roof, as it is easy to damage the tiles and oneself.

toffeey, Oct 20, 3:03am
I reroofed a few years ago with new concrete tiles and they came with the colour already applied

toffeey, Oct 20, 3:16am
Oh are you going to paint the old roof! My 1950s roof was worn out and tiles were pourous and crumbling. Don't think paint would have helped

elliehen, Oct 20, 3:19am
Are the house piles still sound!Nowadays building inspectors sometimes make builders put in extra piles to stop potential sagging under the extra weight of concrete tiles.

elect70, Oct 20, 3:33am
Average tile roofweighs 3tons, wonderhavent been banned as unsafe in an e quake . Last house replaced with color steel,sheet tilessimilar colourasmany of old tilescracked.

toffeey, Oct 20, 4:56pm
Yes in one of the recent shakes I listened to them moving and wondered at the wisdom of having them. However my house is such a lovely warm quiet house and I didnt want to mess with a thing. Mind you wheni had to replace my fire I had to put in extra insulation and that has mucked it all up.

blurple1, Oct 20, 7:45pm
yeah i just want to freshen the roof up might talk to a company that does it and get there advice, in what way did the insulation muck thyings up!

budgel, Oct 20, 11:04pm