Please recommend a rose grower

nonumbers, Jan 9, 7:53am
I'm a newbie rose grower and bought 5 plants from 2 nurseries in the autumn and only two will make it through to next season, and possibly a third.
I would prefer to buy potted plants rather than bare rooted ones.
TIA

oh_hunnihunni, Jan 9, 8:19am
I'd be speaking to those nurseries about replacements so long as your care was up to scratch. Why do you think you lost them? Maybe we can help with that?

nonumbers, Jan 9, 8:40am
One bare rooted standard had only one main short root plus a couple very spindly rootlets - I'm surprised it got to flower at all. Another in a big tub on the deck had all the canes bar one die back to the bud union - the one cane put out a small twig that had 2 yellow flowers rather than the dark yellow and red variegated flower it should have had - maybe it was more frost tender than I was aware of? The third dodgy plant has has mould pretty much since it arrived which spraying has only just dealt with, but all the buds has fallen off.

piquant, Jan 9, 8:40am
Well, nonumbers, as a new rose grower perhaps I could give you a little bit of advice. Buying roses in the autumn (I hope they were potted) was probably a little unwise to the uninitiated. The best time for planting roses is the winter - and the most cost effective is bare rooted. The issue is getting them into soil or mix pronto so the roots do not dry out. Frankly, there is very little point in paying garden centres for potting up your roses if you are just going to pull them out and plant them. Ever noticed how they are tied into the bag and the mix just falls away? That's because they have just been put in! The benefits come (of doing this) when the rose starts to stir - putting out tiny white feeder roots - which are exceptionally brittle and tender and should not be disturbed - and the rose has some food to start to grow.