What can I grow with limited space?

thusisperfectio, Oct 29, 6:12am
Hi,

I just bought my first house and it comes with a rather small lawn at the back of maybe 3x3 metres. I am thinking of digging it up and using it as a garden for vegetables. Is there anything that would grow easily in Auckland in a small area! (Total newb to gardening).

Also, the property has a large, sunny balcony, are there specific flowers and herbs that would grow well in an uncovered balcony! There's glass barriers on all 3 sides but it's exposed to the rain.

lythande1, Oct 29, 6:32am
Everything. Auckland is easy to grow almost anything. Well, except perhaps gooseberries and swedes. But they need frost.
Yes, you can grow on the balcony too. Get some decent size planters, I like the long ones rather than round pots, but it doesn't matter too much. Plant herbs, even some of the smaller veges - radishes, spring onions, lettuce, tomato (if trimmed a bit to prevent it sprawling over the entire area), cucumber (use a tall pole in the pot and grow it up). Capsicums.
We have a 500sqm section, lawn is not that big, but I have 6 gardens and 2 planters. I used bits and pieces, like a bit along the back fence, treated the soil and planted passionfruit and herbs along there. Behind the back of the garage in a dirt strip is more herbs. Thriving too.
Around side I have strawberries and a dwarf ornage tree.
See, be creative. You don't have to have just one large space for a garden.

lythande1, Oct 29, 6:33am
BTW use actual compost, forget potting mix or special other mixes. Compost is what you need. I add sheep pellets to my planters too.

helianthus, Oct 29, 6:48am
Runner beans on a tripod don't use much space and are very prolific.

bigsneak, Oct 29, 7:28am
http://www.nzgardener.co.nz/page.asp!id=53

This is cool you can sign up to receive an email each week tells you what you can plant how to prepare garden etc etc. And she is based in Auckland

samanya, Oct 29, 8:05am