Novice gardener- strawberry plants turning red

angelbabe6, Jun 1, 2:01am
I have no gardening experience, but would like to grow some food plants. A few weeks ago I saw strawberry plants for sale and bought 6. After a little looking online, I chose somewhere that is normally very sunny, and carefully planted them. Today I had a look and saw the leaves are turning red and spotty. Can they be saved, or is it better to take them out, and plant new plants elsewhere? TIA

oh_hunnihunni, Jun 1, 2:12am
Leave them. It could be the cold. My plants have heaps of red leaves following the recent chill, but they'll come right. Plenty of time to replace if they don't.

cantabman1, Jun 1, 3:04am
It is normal for the older leaves to turn red and then die off.You can cut them back and then wait until spring for the new growth to come on.They love sulphate of potash for food.

gabbysnana, Jun 1, 6:25am
why are you trying to grow strawberries in winter? They are dying back now. Waiting for spring to come.

goldgurl, Jun 1, 6:32am
I planted my strawberry plants out a couple of weeks ago (all the runner and dividing last years crop) The commercial growers in my area do it at this time. I agree with Ohhunni. it's prolly the cold weather. they'll bounce back come spring :)

oh_hunnihunni, Jun 1, 6:39am
Lots of green things do a red flush in the cold, it seems logical for strawbs too! Though if the berries turn blue, you may be in for a windfall.

nzjay, Jun 1, 11:34am
It's called Autumn Colours

lythande1, Jun 1, 7:52pm
Wrong time of year. leave them and they will resume in spring and make baby plants.

angelbabe6, Jun 2, 4:25am
Like I said, I am a novice. I saw them for sale and bought them. Please don't criticize, unless you are someone like Ian Scarrow, or you were born a botanical expert, and was gardening the minute you popped out. Everybody has to learn.

buzzy110, Jun 2, 5:08am