Don't buy cordless power tools with NiCd batteries

alan_at_ecotech, Aug 9, 10:58pm
I am an electronics technician and I want to give a bit of advice.

Unless you are buying for parts or are prepared to go to the expense of getting the battery repacked don't buy cordless power tools with NiCd batteries. Invariably they would lack charge capacity. Lithium battery powered tools are far superior.

vivac, Aug 9, 11:25pm
Thanks for the heads up, but you are about 8 years too late, most of the good brands use Lithium anyway and have done for quite a while.

underconstructy, Aug 9, 11:31pm
I can only assume this is the first time you have had Internet access in 10 years.

aredwood, Aug 9, 11:47pm
And even before Lithium ion batteries, there was Ni- MH batteries. Which alot of power tools used. Better than NiCd. But not as good as Lithium ion.

But Lithium ion batteries can get damaged if they get discharged too much. So the tool will have a low battery cutout in it. But if the tool only gets rarely used. The batteries can still discharge too much and get damaged.

So for tools that will only ever be occasionally used. Get mains powered ones. They can sit unused for as long as you want. Yet will be ready to use as soon as you plug them in. Far better than grabbing a battery tool only to find that the battery is stuffed.

pixma, Aug 10, 12:56am
I've mainly used a decent plug in drill for every thing, and a cheapo $30 NiCad cordless for rare occasions. Cordless broke, so I went and brought a cheapo Lithium for $70.

Whenever the thing nears flat now, it just stops for a few seconds with no warning. Damn pain.

pauldw, Aug 10, 1:12am
Most people forget that lithium batteries don't last forever because they replace their phones with new models. Problem hidden. In 3 or 4 years time will you be able to get batteries for your drill and at what cost?

alan_at_ecotech, Aug 10, 1:43am
I have been using the internet since 1961.