Showerdome or extractor fan for bathroom?

Page 1 / 2
dollydot, Mar 27, 4:52am
We were thinking of getting a decent bathroom extractor fan and a heater installed in our two bathrooms but have been told that showerdomes might be more effective.We'd still be putting a heater in also as the wiring is already there to do that. Have heard that even with extractor fans some bathrooms still have wet walls. My original thoughts were to get the steam out with the extractor fan but seems this is not always effective. The fans we are looking at don't need to be on a timer as they are quite powerful apparently.Which way to go! Any ideas!

haventrader, Mar 27, 4:59am
We installed a good extractor fan shortly after moving into our home. The bathroom walls were like a shower with steam everywhere after a shower. The extractor fan made all the difference. Even the mirror does not fog up anymore. I have no experience with Showerdome. They may be effective, but I'm a believer in through - ventilation, which an extractor fan will provide. If going for an extractor fan, don't be fooled by some of the gimmicks on the market- get the best you can afford. Good luck.

aloha3, Mar 27, 5:13am
x1
We have a showerdome and find it brilliant. Used property it keeps the bathroom dry and you do not use so much hot water. Serach on the left, quite a few threads on showerdomes.

stevo2, Mar 27, 5:22am
We have an extractor fan but still got steam, installed a showerdome and the extractor never gets turned on now.

soph001, Mar 27, 5:27am
SHOWERDOME.

SHOWERDOME.

SHOWERDOME.

So many reasons why.

trade4us2, Mar 27, 5:52am
I don't understand the purpose of a showerdome. Just run the shower enclosure right up the the roof instead.

mothergoose_nz, Mar 27, 6:01am
i found an extractor fan pulled all the warm air out of the bathroom. showerdomes are warmer

duffpot, Mar 27, 8:27am
Showerdome

salb21, Mar 27, 11:30pm