Griselinia cutting

blogzy, Jan 13, 9:25pm
I am a cuttings novice so not sure what's up with my attempt at propagating griselinia.
I planted them in sharp fine sand about 7 weeks ago. Cut on angle, applied rooting hormone, watered regularly, semi shade outside. Around 20% have not survived, the remainder are looking ok but when I pull them they have not yet developed any root. How long should a root take to form ?

omamari, Jan 14, 7:10am
I think that if you have 80% looking healthy you are going well. I have grown all sorts of natives from cuttings, but have very little success with griselinia. It's a waiting game

apple27, Jan 14, 10:23am
Griselinia is tricky - I'd be thrilled with an 80% take rate.

lythande1, Jan 14, 11:28am
They take a long time you know. I would plant in actual soil. I have in fact, done several cuttings soft and hard.

blogzy, Jan 14, 1:26pm
Thanks for the feedback. What I'm surprised with is that after 7 weeks they still have not formed any root. How long can the root take to form ? Also should I wait until It develops root before I transplant into potting mix or do it now ?

strathview, Jan 14, 3:48pm
Griselinia grows better from seed.

gabbysnana, Jan 14, 4:37pm
A hedge of it is very invasive, its roof system goes everywhere and starves out everything, looking for a successful way to kill a 60 metre hedge cheaply.

rita197, Apr 5, 10:39am
Griselinia is a good plant. It is basically a small tree. it is a hardwood plant and difficult propagate. Best to propagate softwood plants.

dibble35, Apr 6, 4:54am
x1
See I found the opposite when I worked in a GOL nursery, Griselinias were easy to do compared to some. Did you cut the angle at a node? Any bottom heat? this makes roots form faster. If I remember correctly we used to do our 1000's of cuttings late winter after the newest growth was firm enough. I wouldnt call them hardwood cuttings at all.

pukekohe2, Apr 6, 7:50am
We propagate several thousand of these yearly.