First year building apprentice on $25 a hr yes/no

Page 1 / 2
cagivachick1, Jul 5, 4:59pm
someone in another thread reckons their son is on $25 a hr as a first year apprentice, i dont believe it what do you think any builders on here. stevo?

stevo2, Jul 5, 6:06pm
Mate he's dreaming.
1st year around minimum rate unless he's on contract rather than wages. If so add another $7/hr or thereabouts but he'll get No holidays, sick pay, stats or anything.

krames, Jul 5, 6:09pm
26ph hammer hands in queenstown

loud_37, Jul 5, 6:31pm
If your working for a good company then yes this is possible.

cagivachick1, Jul 5, 7:48pm
would you as a client be happy being charged $50 a hr for a 1st year boy?

ianab, Jul 5, 8:33pm
What you don't know is what his actual experience is. My BIL is completing his "apprenticeship" in his 30's. He's as good as most qualified builders, and is paid accordingly, just has to work "supervised" until he completes the paperwork.

So is it some some spotty kid just out of school, or an "adult" with some actual building experience, that's now doing an official apprenticeship to get fully qualified? And is able to do 99% of the builders job.

loud_37, Jul 5, 9:17pm
I only accept quotes for the full job not hourly, so if i'm happy with the quote and the job is done well I don't care what the hourly rate is.

cagivachick1, Jul 5, 9:29pm
so the quote is $900 plus gst , you are supplying the materials and a tradesman and a first year boy are there for 4 hrs, you will be caring about the hourly rate then

loud_37, Jul 5, 9:36pm
As I said I don't care about the hourly rate, but I would expect alot to be done in that 4 hrs for that price, I don't think they could do as much as I would expect so I wouldn't except the quote.
Most jobs I can do myself so I know what to pay.

loud_37, Jul 5, 9:40pm
If I think a job is worth $1000.00 I don't care if its done in 10hrs or 40hrs as long as it's a good quality job.

cagivachick1, Jul 6, 6:20am
sure