Advice needed re sanding a peeling exterior door

waleedwahsh, Mar 3, 8:55am
I'm hoping someone can give me some advice because I am a total DIY beginner.
We have wooden french doors, and on the exterior the 'stuff' is peeling off (it it thin layers of brownish stuff).leaving the raw wood underneath exposed. I *think* that I need to sand the peeling stuff off, and recoat it with . something.
Can someone please tell me what sanding tools I need (there are so many types! belt, random orbit, palm! And do I need just ordinary sand paper to finish! What grade!) And what is that stuff that I need to recoat the wood with!
I'm wanting to buy the sanding tools second hand, otherwise I'd just ask at Mitre 10.

pandaeye, Mar 3, 9:12am
use a paint stripper first then you'll only need to hand sand it.

hatchback, Mar 3, 6:20pm
What he says

shadow57, Mar 3, 6:41pm
yeah agree with them.I had to redo my front door.stripped four layers of paint off. the finish was superb. a hint someone told me years ago was to wash down with sugar soap, no need to rinse, let dry thoroughly, before first coat.

waleedwahsh, Mar 3, 9:50pm
Well, that's good news I suppose, though I was kind of looking forward to buying a sander.
So what do I apply after using the paint stripper! Is it that stuff called varnish!

budgel, Mar 3, 10:19pm
Exterior doors can be hard on varnish. If you must use it instead of paint, get a marine varnish which will tolerate UV better.

p.monro, Mar 4, 5:40pm
yes use paint stripper. How much fancy work does the door have. If it has lots of mouldings (fancy pieces of wood) and inlaid panels you will need a scraper or some steel wool to remove the debris after the stripper is applied. Try to get some coarse steel wool but use house hold stuff.