Old Kent fire

Page 1 / 2
christin, Jun 16, 4:46pm
Haven't used for a few years but now ready to go.

Can't rember how the levers work. One pulls out and one slides left to right,

Anyone enlighten me? I think pull the in out one out till fire gets going and the out back in?

Any other hints?

Thanks!

sunnysue1, Jun 16, 4:53pm
Hope the chimney sweep has been. those birds love nesting in them

zak410, Jun 16, 5:00pm
The slider must be for the air, keep it left (open?) until the fire goes strongly, then you can control it with that.

Pull the other one (!) out also when starting the fire, close it after a while, that must reduce the flue. ?

christin, Jun 16, 5:04pm
That sounds right, the out to start is what I thought

Not sure what side the slider should be though when starting,. could be trial and error but I'm not experienced doing fires so thought someone may know so I don't have to do duds!

Will try left u less anyone suggests different :-)

Other fireplace in house is easy! Open one

circularboy, Jun 16, 6:17pm
I have a old Kent fire as well. On lighting, have the flue one pulled right out and the side slider to the left. Once the fire is going well, close the flue and adjust the side slider to control the heat output. The flue one actually prevents the door from being opened unless you pull it out. Last thing you want is a room full of smoke! Marvelous fires that throw out a lot of heat and also easily go all night and half the next day.

christin, Jun 16, 6:47pm
Thanks. Iv got it going now, seems to die down a lot if I close flue etc. trial ans error etc.

I guess it's practice etc, at least it's still going lol

This is an old brown one, asked the fire guy if worth replacing with an updated one and he said these are better in his opinion so will stick with it

bill1451, Jun 16, 7:33pm
outdated now and you will by council regulations be forced to replace it, be
prepared to spend $4000 + we replaced ours with a woodsman brunner
best thing we ever did.