Protecting carpet when painting skirting

christin, Apr 2, 7:33am
What's the easiest way to do this, sorry newbie here.

Masking tape? Or remember seeing some guide or guard you can hold that sits there to protect it? I assume drop sheet is hard to get just right?

Don't trust myself to do it without the odd drip .

stevo2, Apr 2, 7:55am
I use a 600mm long piece of aluminium sheet about 1mm thick by about 100mm high. You can also use stiff cardboard or plastic. Mega10 have a plastic version for sale for a few $

christin, Apr 2, 8:00am
Thanks. I have seen someone using something with a small right angle edge that goes down between carpet and skirting butnthatbwas ages ago and wasn't sure if it was common

jkp58, Apr 2, 8:08am
you can get plastic that sticks to carpet that is 300mm wide great for protecting carpet

gardenz107, Apr 2, 8:08am
We use these - they are plastic and come in packs of about 6 from memory. Not expensive. We get ours from Bunnings or Mitre10

christin, Apr 2, 8:19am
j

Thanks. Did look on their site but no luck but will visit tomorrow

spiritofgonzo, Apr 2, 9:23am
Ive used the plastic things . but I still get paint on the carpet. It either leajs through the gap or marks it when I pull it away after placing and painting. Also you end up with a line at the bottom, since I went from green to white. which you probably wouldn't notice if you're changing shades of white. Anyway I have found a cutting in brush (angled) and a slow hand gets a better result

spiritofgonzo, Apr 2, 9:23am
*leaks

vivienney, Apr 7, 12:20am
I use a steel ruler - have it horizontally up against skirting and bend forward so I can slip thin layer of paint onto skirting. Works really well.

morrisjvan, Apr 8, 5:10am
wow ,you get Eric Clapton to paint your skirtings ? i'm impressed .

mtbotrev, Apr 8, 7:56am