What's wrong with my hot water cylinder?

3ofeach, Jun 2, 2:31am
About three weeks ago my hot water cylinder stopped working and a electrician was called. He installed a new element, thermostat and fuse on the power board. He set the temp to 55 degrees. Before this our hot water cylinder kept up with 5 hot showers a day and the mirror got steamed up, the hot water cupboard was warm enough to dry damp clothes in, etc. Now the shower is turned on to the hottest it will go, but is never hot and runs cold after two showers, the kettle has to be boiled to do dishes, the hot water cupboard is cold. Is the temperature just not high enough? Has the wrong element been put in so is not getting the temperature up? Is 55 degrees normally hot enough to preform? I have no idea what temperature our cylinder was on before. TIA

pettal, Jun 2, 2:37am

maclad, Jun 2, 2:47am
Sounds to me as if your temp is set too low,but, I am not really good with these things, in saying that, 5 showers, if long ones, especially, will drain your cylinder, especially if it is set at a low temp. Do ensure that your cylinder is not running out over the roof wasting your hot water. If so it is an easy fix in most cases.

lythande1, Jun 2, 2:49am
Ring him back.

budgel, Jun 2, 3:09am
It is possible that an element with a lower wattage than the previous one has been fitted, this would mean it takes longer to get back up to temperature.
You could turn the temperature up yourself by turning the dial on the thermostat up to say, 60 degrees. No point in going higher. There is a chance that the dial setting is inaccurate.
One other thing, the weather is now noticeably colder, so most of us end up running the shower at a hotter setting.

3ofeach, Jun 2, 3:15am