Vegetable garden, what would you grow again?

Page 1 / 2
stefanie, Feb 24, 9:05pm
Hi, I am still a beginner with growing vegetables (in good and prepared soil) and I would definitely grow spring onions, garlic, peppers, beetroot, beans, lettuce and zucchinis again. My tomatoes are just going red and you can buy them now for $1.99 per kg at New World. I also found that herbs grow way too prolific and take too much space to bother again (baring parsley and chives), as we don't use them enough (I threw out 2 buckets full of basil). What is your 'must' grow and 'better not'?

melford, Feb 24, 9:14pm
I'm not growing tomatoes again as by the time they ripen they are cheap enough in the shops. I also don't grow potatoes as they are cheap enough at farmers markets or from the roadside stalls. I don't grow lettuce, strawberries, herbs apart from chives and parsley. I grow carrots, silver beet and leeks and sometimes beetroot. I have found by the time you buy compost and fertiliser plus all the messing around watering etc it is not worth growing certain things plus at the end of the season you have so much dead rubbish to dispose of

deanna14, Feb 24, 9:27pm
I grow because I don't spray and delight in munching on something just picked knowing its pure. I grew parsnips last year, and would grow again. Tomatoes, pumpkins, capsicums, climbing beans, Silverbeet, potatoes, garlic, elephant garlic, carrots, broccoli, cucumbers, spring onions, parsley, flat leaf and curly, cauliflower (still need to master them) broadbeans, beetroot (still need to improve there) and I would grow them all again. Only into my 2nd year growing. Am awaiting capsicums and my 1st chillies to harvest.

oh_hunnihunni, Feb 24, 9:51pm