Oven's wiring - wired in legal

Page 2 / 2
t_naki, Mar 5, 5:23pm
The sockets are protected by a fuse inside the range. Otherwise the circuit protection on the switchboard should be rated for the protection of the cable.

liggy2, Mar 5, 7:19pm
Ring the electrical workersregistration board they will tell you all you need to know as the regs are constantly being updated. 0800661000

killy1, Mar 5, 8:51pm
ryan2,
ESS reg 66,3,dThe so called 'like for like 'clause.

vivienney, Mar 6, 5:38am
Yikes, quite confused by most of thread but thanks everyone for your contribution. It sounds like it is a gray area. Thanks Liggy for the number. I will give it a call. :) Vivienne

210sback, Mar 6, 5:46am
ovens are never put on an rcd,don't comment on things you know nothing about.

210sback, Mar 6, 5:55am
dont be confused just ask your electrician,mrfxit is the one that is confused.i think he got his qualification from a weetbix box.

kwaka5, Mar 6, 6:50am
Ask me. I'm a registered electrical inspector. think i can still remember some of the rules and regs. Waht do you actually want to know. Are you installing new, as in there has never been a range there in the first place. or are you replacing and existing range, as in there is one there but have bought a nice new shiny one. Or is it that i want to alter my kitchen around. More information the better.

t_naki, Mar 6, 6:57am
It is not a grey area at all mrfixit is remarkably uninformed and should not be listened to.

russ18, Mar 6, 7:07am
Electrical inspector here too, this really isn't a gray area.

vivienney, Mar 7, 7:23am
Hi, Sorry, should have explained that it is to replace a redundant oven which is plugged in. I called the number but they had no-one available to answer these types of questions at present. I spoke to an electrician at work who said the new one should be plugged in but that the old oven's fitting could be transferred over. Cheers!

russ18, Mar 7, 7:29am
Yep, in all probability just swap the lead over and plug in.