Chainsaw won't start

aprilguy, Jul 1, 10:32pm
Chinese 45cc chainsaw was running fine till recently, now won't start. Trouble shooting so far, I know it has good spark (removed plug and turned over engine while holding it against engine), good compression (tests at about 100psi) and I have removed and cleaned the carby. When I pour a little petrol/oil mix down the carb, it makes no difference, still won't start. So what am I missing?

bill1451, Jul 1, 10:47pm
I have had a lot of experience with small engines (lifestyle block) even tho the spark plug looks good, for the few bucks involved I would get a new one, as it could be intermittent. I would then try squirting a little bit of fuel in the spark plug hole replace plug and see if it fires, basically with 2 strokes its carby, fuel or spark. How old is the fuel, maybe mix up some fresh and try that.
After a FEW PULLS on the cord remove plug and see if there is any sign of fuel on it, also check spark gap, rule of thumb(rough) I use a hacksaw blade.

bill1451, Jul 1, 10:51pm
when you say you have removed and cleaned carby, does that include disasembly because if you have pulled carb aPART that usually means you need to put a new kit in it as the rubber diaphragm is very delicate and most likely need replacing.Empty fuel out of tank and blow out with air compressor also check fuel filter (in tank on end of plastic fuel line)

macman26, Jul 2, 1:26am
Had a Sthil (in fact still have it.) would run great then stop. Ages to start. Would check the plug and all good. few carby kits later still issues. Then one day no spark across the plug. Replaced the plug and hasn't missed a beat in almost 15 years. So yes they can be intermittent.
Could also be the timing has moved. I've heard of keys shearing.
But as mentioned post 2 . Start with replacing the plug.

aprilguy, Jul 2, 8:28am