Previously stained cedar weatherboards

chrisw., Feb 13, 4:50am
Hi - house we have purchased has cedar weatherboards with a blue stain. Can we apply a new stain straight over the top (wanting to go to a darker charcoal colour) or do we need to sand back/remove the old stain!

daz1968, Feb 13, 5:25am
No you will be fine to go straight over the top,its when you are trying to cover with a lighter colour it can be tricky with coverage,darker over light as you are doing is fine.Use a waterbased stain,the woodsman is good from dulux,easier to use that oilbased and better cleanup.It doesnt matter what was used before as its weathered,I'm a self employed painter:)
just make sure you give it a light wash first (not heavy) as you will damage the cedar as its soft timber.

hatchback, Feb 13, 8:13am
Waterblast it so its clean then paint two coats of Dulux Timbercryl over it. That will save it from deteriorating any further. Ceder should not be used here as New Zealand is too hot and dry.

roopydoop, Feb 13, 8:28am
http://www.resene.co.nz/pdf/painters_woodcare.pdf

Page 4 in the link applies to your question I think :-)

rsr72, Feb 13, 9:55am
Cedar is an excellent, and traditionally-used, weatherboard timber in NZ conditions. It's extremely stable compared with other timbers and is longlasting due to it's resin content.
Be careful waterblasting, and if absolutely necessary only at low pressures as it can be soft, particularly modern non-heart cedars.

malone4, Feb 13, 8:38pm
x1
be weary about using a dark stain as it attracts heat and tends to split the timber. Also its best to use an oil based for external use to weather proof as it repels water.

chrisw., Feb 14, 3:52am
Thanks for the suggestions. We're looking at the Resene 'cool colours' which hopefully might alleviate some of the issues with heat. Any experience with using these! One of the reasons we wish to shy away from a lighter colour is to try and cover the existing blue stain.

max.headroom, Feb 14, 7:21am